Regular attendance is important to ensure achievement in school. We discourage vacations and trips taken during the school year. We also discourage doctors' and other appointments when avoidable. When those appointments are unavoidable, students are responsible for any make-up work during their absence. Assignments that are not made up, according to the time restrictions set by the teacher and school, will be reflected in their grades. It is helpful to both student and teacher to make prior arrangements to meet that requirement.
School starts promptly at:
High School: 7:30 am
Intermediate: 7:30 am
Elementary: 7:45 am
Colorado State Attendance law states, in part, that "Every elementary child who has attained the age of 7 and under the age of 16 years … will attend public school for at least 968 instructional hours during the school year, and every secondary school child will attend public school for at least 1056 instructional hours during the school year." Ridgeview's instructional hours exceed the State's requirement for minimal instructional hours.
The State of Colorado and Poudre School District's goal for attendance is 95%, as is that of Ridgeview Classical Schools. In order to attain this goal, a student cannot miss more than 10 days during the entire school year.
Missing 2 clock hours equals a half-day absence. Missing 4 clock hours equals a full-day absence.
The following will be considered excused absences:
- Absences for medical reasons
- Absences for mental or emotional disabilities
- Pre-arranged absences of an educational nature must be approved by the Principal, e.g., visits to colleges for high school students; scheduled, performance-related activities.
- Attendance at any school-sponsored activity
- Bereavement (notify school if absence will extend beyond three days)
The School may require suitable proof of excused absences, including written statements from medical sources.
To Report an Absence
If your child is absent because of illness or an appointment for which we have not been notified previously, please call to make us aware of the situation before 8:00 a.m. It is critical to student safety that we know where all students are on school days. You may call early and leave a message on the Absence Line (494-4620 x199). Please notify the school every day your child is to be away from school. Office staff will place calls daily to parents for unaccounted absences.
If a student has more than four unexcused absences in one month or ten days in any year, the student may be classified as habitually truant according to Colorado School Law. When the parent does not explain sufficiently the reason for unexcused absences, the department of social services will be notified, a parent conference will be required, and credit will be withheld. An unexcused absence is defined as an absence that is not covered by one of the foregoing exceptions. Each unexcused absence will be entered on the student's record. The parents or guardian of the student receiving an unexcused absence will be notified by the school of the unexcused absence. Homework will not be sent home nor will credit be awarded for any work done during periods of unexcused absence except as defined in Explanation of Excused/Unexcused Absences.
Tardiness is a form of absence and interferes with student learning. Disruption and loss of instruction time result when students are not in their classrooms ready to begin learning on time. Classes begin promptly at 7:30 a.m. for High School and Intermediate School, and 7:45 a.m. for Elementary School. Parents are expected to have their students at school a minimum of 5 minutes prior to the start of classes. Tardy students must be checked in at the office by their parent or guardian before going to class.
Intermediate and High School
Promptly at start time, doors to classrooms are closed and the academic day begins. For Intermediate and High School classes, tardy students will not be admitted to class and incur an unexcused absence. Four unexcused absences in one month or ten in any year will cause credit to be withheld.
After two tardies a letter will be sent home to inform the parent(s). Any tardies thereafter will have a consequence that may include an after school detention. Habitual tardiness will result in further disciplinary action. Three tardies equal one unexcused absence.
Students may NOT be taken from the school or playground unless parents have signed them out in the office. School-sponsored activities require a teacher or sponsor to be responsible for the students. Therefore if a parent desires to take her student at the completion of an activity, written notification must be given to the teacher or sponsor. Students may only leave the activity or event with their own parent unless prior written authorization is given to the teacher or sponsor.